Spain Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.2
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.1

"Best Hostel you will ever stay in"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dan M. of london, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 30, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if can get over its appearance and lack of facilities you will find the best spot in barca.
great location, greta staff, if you meet juan or oscar they are legends. Oscar's a friend of the people who own the apartment they rent, he the only one who can speak english, playes the kazoo and makes bracelets for a living. if you like pro evo there is always a game on.

i wouln't really be arsed to write a review. im not a keeno, but this place, top draw.
good if you wana meet new people, genuine, cheap loads of stories loads of character safe as you like.

been back twice, only place 2 stay./

"great location"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Manica K. of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed:   August 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location, not expensive

"surpriese"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Nazarii G. of Benewa, Ukraine
Reviewed:   May 21, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hostel is difficult to find, becouse all are sleeping in the day. true to call in all balls. but it's has a good position in the city. Diego is a good man and very hospitable, but in this hostel is not breakfast. a big noith till morning, but if you are tired you can sleep :). as for it was cool, and prise is good too.

"Take this opportunity!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Emily L. of Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed:   May 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My two friends and i are university students and so we have a very small budget. This place was great deal! At first, we were looking for the place and we seemed to be at the correct address, but there was no sign of the hostel. Two doors down we found another hostel and went in but it was not the right one and they weren't actually aware that there was one two doors down. We eventually decided to buzz this apartment building when we saw some other young ppl come out of the building not speaking spanish. They buzzed us in and we headed upstairs, all of us feeling a little hesitant. We were greeted and shown around the hostel which is really more of an apartment with several bedrooms converted into dorm rooms. We were a little worried when our room wasn't cleared out yet, but the workers were very friendly and made us feel comfortable enough to leave our stuff in the room while we went to explore the city. When we returned our room was cleaned up and we felt very comfortable in the place. The staff are really great! We stayed there for about 4 nights, and I would absolutely go back! This place is awesome for location, price, friendly staff, no security problems. You have access to a kitchen, which we really enjoyed. Our experience here was similar to a "couchsurfing" experience because the staff made us feel so at home.

"Kilppari Hostel is a nice place"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Myrto Z. of Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed:   May 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it is cheap so it is a great place to sleep if you travel low-budget. It 's not something very fancy, more like a very large appartment, where you can mingle with everybody else in the kitchen and the living-room. But this is exactly the fun of it. And a great location too.

"Very good located"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Andrzej J. of Bedzin, Poland
Reviewed:   May 4, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice hostel with ambience. Very close to city center. You dont have to get out to feel Barcelona's climate.
I recommend it.

"So much fun!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Samantha O. of Minneapolis, MN, United States
Reviewed:   April 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had such a blast at this hostel! Be prepared, it is basically a big apartment so you will see the other guests all the time and its very laid back. No towels included but you have access to everything a normal house has. I had a great cultural experience there since alot of the guests were Spanish or at least spoke Spanish fluently. Its definately for those who are looking to have a good time and party. Great location too!!!

"good value for money"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Agnieszka B. of Poznan, Poland
Reviewed:   March 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you want your room service at 10 o'clock together with the breakfast then please chose anither place- hilton or any other posh place.

At Kilppari you can expect warm greeting from hosts and loads of hints where to go. Atmosphere in the hostel is really very good, you always feel welcomed.


And what's the best about the hostel- it's 5 min from Ramblas and beach as well!!!

Thank you guys!!!

"historic district"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Felix F. of Wien, Austria
Reviewed:   March 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
difficuld to find (door-clock nr.1) simple and clean, small balcony but not too loud. 2 tv, internet access with own laptop possible.

"The Spanish Apartment"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Byron O. of Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   January 13, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed for a week with the guys at Kilparri over the Merce fetival, I have travelled all over the world and have stayed at some amazing places, but I have to say that the hospitality shown to me, and my all over Barcelona experience was one of the highlights of my travel life. Diego and the other staff showed me a side of Barcelona that you will not find in any travel guide, great little tapas and pinchos restaurants, local bars and nightclubs and of course the many great outdoor events associated with the festival. One of the staff Oscar is and ex pat Argentine that has lived in Barcelona for over 20 years and he speaks perfect english, and knows the city intimately.A couple of the other staff's english isn't perfect... but hey neither was my espanol!!!
The rooms were not perfectly clean (what hostels are?) but the mattresses and pillows were excellent and when you are paying 15 euro a night to stay in the gothic quarter, you shouldn't expect the Ritz.
Now for the practical stuff its a block from Las Ramblas, there are hundreds of restaurants and bars nearby, there are also metro stations on Las Ramblas. There are also many little deli's and supermarkets close by and a trip to the Gothic Quarter is not complete without meeting some of the locals in George Orwell Square.
If you are after a real Catalan experience and not just a bed for the night then Kilparri is the place for you... I cannot recommend it highly enough.


1 - 10 of 13 reviews  Next 3 results




SpainInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us