Spain Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.2
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.1

"good value for money"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Agnieszka B. of Poznan, Poland
Reviewed:   March 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you want your room service at 10 o'clock together with the breakfast then please chose anither place- hilton or any other posh place.

At Kilppari you can expect warm greeting from hosts and loads of hints where to go. Atmosphere in the hostel is really very good, you always feel welcomed.


And what's the best about the hostel- it's 5 min from Ramblas and beach as well!!!

Thank you guys!!!

"Worst hostel ever"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Joao M. of porto, Portugal
Reviewed:   March 7, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
really bad place to choose..awful conditions..everything dirty.worst place i've been in and i traveled to a lot a places and hostels this year..don't choose this hostel because you will regreat it. i refused to stay there and searched for a better place.

"historic district"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Felix F. of Wien, Austria
Reviewed:   March 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
difficuld to find (door-clock nr.1) simple and clean, small balcony but not too loud. 2 tv, internet access with own laptop possible.

"NOT to recommend"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Wojciech K. of Poznań, Poland
Reviewed:   February 26, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've booked this hostel for 3 days but i didn't spend there even one night... It's because when me and my girlfriend arrived it was closed :| We was at the place at 1 AM but the reception should be 24h - it wasn't... At night we had to look for a place to stay - we found GREAT youth hostel about 20m from Kilppari. I've already payed a reservation at Kilppari (THAT MONEY ARE GONE!). Next day Kilppari Hostel contacted me but I didn't want to live there... It's unsure. I was there to talk with the owners... it seems nice but I NOT recomend it. You never know when it would be closed!

"The Spanish Apartment"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Byron O. of Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   January 13, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed for a week with the guys at Kilparri over the Merce fetival, I have travelled all over the world and have stayed at some amazing places, but I have to say that the hospitality shown to me, and my all over Barcelona experience was one of the highlights of my travel life. Diego and the other staff showed me a side of Barcelona that you will not find in any travel guide, great little tapas and pinchos restaurants, local bars and nightclubs and of course the many great outdoor events associated with the festival. One of the staff Oscar is and ex pat Argentine that has lived in Barcelona for over 20 years and he speaks perfect english, and knows the city intimately.A couple of the other staff's english isn't perfect... but hey neither was my espanol!!!
The rooms were not perfectly clean (what hostels are?) but the mattresses and pillows were excellent and when you are paying 15 euro a night to stay in the gothic quarter, you shouldn't expect the Ritz.
Now for the practical stuff its a block from Las Ramblas, there are hundreds of restaurants and bars nearby, there are also metro stations on Las Ramblas. There are also many little deli's and supermarkets close by and a trip to the Gothic Quarter is not complete without meeting some of the locals in George Orwell Square.
If you are after a real Catalan experience and not just a bed for the night then Kilparri is the place for you... I cannot recommend it highly enough.

"Sad that a ok hostel is run by a guy who can't handel it."

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Mathias E. of Århus V, Denmark
Reviewed:   January 5, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A very unorginezed hostel. And it was a very unprofesional way of running a hostel. Their level of english is very low which makes it impossible to get back you deposit (I don't think they understand the word deposit.)

"Kilppari Hostel Barcelona"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   D F. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   January 5, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff of the hostel were super nice and available, though not very knowledgable of Barcelona itself.
The hostel building, itself, however, was pretty dirty, and I watched this new place become more and more of a commercial establishment over the few days I was there.

"kilpari hostel"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Merina L. of Boulder, United States
Reviewed:   September 28, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it was a great environment where the people where really nice. i showed up and they were all eating dinner and having a beer. it is located in the gothic barrio, which is historical and mystic. it is a cheap hostel that is well worth the money and i recomend it to travelers

"My fav"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Brad B. of Flint, Michigan, United States
Reviewed:   August 22, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was unfortunate that we were able to stay there only one night. Though it was difficult to find, the atmosphere is relaxed, the facilities are clean and decent, and the owners seem to me to be extremely trustworthy. Though we paid 20 Euros (in comparison with 15 at other hostels we experienced) per night, it was worth the extra money. Plus it's right downtown, just south of Barri Gotic, where I think the real soul of the city is. I think it's somewhere you can meet very cool people, thanks to the casual atmosphere set by the design of the hostel and the attitude of the owners. P.S. there are no lockboxes, so if you're a paranoid kind of person then don't bring anything important that you can't sleep with in your pockets. You never know what kind of guests there'll be even in a place like Kilparri.

"poor service"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Eva G. of mays landing, United States
Reviewed:   August 20, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
este no es un hostel,es un apartamento con varias camas,por que no tiene un nombre al frente q identifique al hostel,no tiene los servicios que ofrecen por internet,es una casa particular que renta camas,nada mas.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 20 reviews




SpainInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us